March madness

Books:

March was pretty hectic with unexpected moving and whatnot so I unfortunately didn’t have much (see also: any) free time. So I only read one book in March, Tina Fey’s ‘Bossypants‘. I really like Tina so I enjoyed this easy-to-read glimpse into her thoughts. I particularly relate to the whole “blorft” thing, or “completely overwhelmed by proceedings as if everything is fine and reacting to the stress with the topor of a possum.” Hoping April will be a better month for reading and general R&R.

Music:

Enjoying the return of Lorde 🙌🙌 Also a big fan of the Selena Gomez/Kygo track. Suspect Ed Sheeran’s ‘Dive’ is about Taylor? Discuss.

Movies:

Despite the aforementioned lack of free time this month, still managed to see two films and, of course, attend the Harry Potter Movie Marathon.

Logan The X-Men are probably my favourite comic creations so I’m always down for anything related to them. I’m also a huge Hugh Jackman fan so there was no way I wasn’t going to see this asap. It’s a wonderful film, one that really tells a story about regret and struggle and coming to terms with your failing mortality. Hugh Jackman gives a masterful performance that is somehow trumped by Patrick Stewart’s broken portrayal of Professor X. A great example of what can be achieved when the story and characters are put first, rather than the need to set up a bunch of sequels and spin offs. Also a great example of just telling a story and applying a rating that fits (R18 in this case) rather than trying to make a film fit into a specific rating, or just being gory for the sake of it. I did think it was a bit long in the middle, but overall really recommend it and its melancholy soundtrack.

Ghost in the ShellI’ve never read the manga or saw the original animated film. I had no idea really what it was about it but I like Scarlett Johannsen and spec fic, and it was filmed in Wellington, so I really wanted to see it. I liked it. It was weird, but I liked it. It reminded me a bit of The Matrix, except the action was way slower and it wasn’t as mind-bendy. The story seemed weirdly simplistic, I felt a bit “That’s it?” about it. I guess I was just expecting there to be more philosophical angst over what makes you human, and robot v human existential issues. More Blade Runner, you know? There’s obviously been a lot of criticism about the casting of Johannsen to play a Japanese character, and while I think it would be amazing to see more diversity on screen, in this instance it didn’t feel obtrusive, considering the story centers around body modification and the blurring of artificial and natural states. Regardless of everything, the cinematography is beautiful. Just an incredibly pretty film.

Leave a Reply

