TED Talk Tuesday

“When we reject the single story, when we realise that there is never a single story about any place, we regain a kind of paradise.”

This is so important. I think we so often fall into the single story trap. It’s so easy to forget that every story must, by nature, have another side. When my family first moved to Australia, I was asked on more on one occasion how I could be white if I was from Africa. Just like in Mean Girls…which is one of the reasons I love that film. On the other hand, when people make the connection that I’m originally from South Africa, I form part of another story in their minds…one defined by racism. It’s a very weird situation to find yourself in. This talk was a good reminder to be mindful of falling for a single narrative.

On a related note, would recommend reading Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s ‘We should all be feminists‘ talk as well…or read the book.

Leave a Reply

