Paris when it sizzles – Cooking Adventure #5

The cooking trend came to a staggering halt when mum had to go to Sydney on a two week work trip. I went along during the first week, and dad absconded for most of the second. Bothering with recipes just seemed like too much effort and, to be honest, it’s something mum and I really enjoy doing together. It’s just not fun without her!

So it was almost four weeks before we returned to our experimenting with sizzling beef steak, hoi sin prawn and noodle bowls. Unfortunately this was also our least successful attempt. I do not do seafood and neither does mum. While I will have the odd battered fish or calamari, mum will not touch it with a ten foot pole. We’re just not keen. On the other hand, dad is a fan and that’s why we decided to make this – just with less prawns than the recipe required.

Now personally I had no problems with this dish. The flavours were great and I just love the hoi sin noodles. Sooo good. Both parentals aren’t keen on coriander though and thought it was way too overpowering – I didn’t even notice. So, next time, we’ll halve the amount and see if it’s better received! We also went over time again (around 30min) so dad found the steak too cold by the time it was served. And he thought it was underdone, but I think he was just being whiny.

It was really flavoursome though and, although disappointing compared to previous attempts, not a complete wash out. It received a sad 2 Grumpy Dads out of 5.

2014-03-19 18.08.33

2 thoughts on “Paris when it sizzles – Cooking Adventure #5

  1. I haven’t tried this one but it sounds good. The steak looks perfect to me and you know how I feel about coriander.

    • I’d recommend it. The hoi sin noodle bowls are really nice, I’ve made them separately with other things as well. Nom!

Leave a Reply

