Quintessence

If I like a moment, for me, personally, I don’t like to have the distraction of the camera. I just want to stay in it.
Stay in it?
Yeah. Right there. Right here.

This is so important. So relevant. And poignant.

the-secret-life-of-walter-mitty

If you’ve lost, or travelled, or felt the pangs of wanderlust, or have an instinctive understanding of fernweh, or if you’ve written your life away, or worked damned hard and got trapped, or dreamed of something beyond the normal existence you regularly find yourself in…if you understand, watch this film. Yeah, sure, maybe it’s a little saccharine but it’s also beautifully made, and relatable, and painful, and sweet. What more could you ask for?

It reminded me of this quote I found once, years ago. It was attributed to Hemingway but I sincerely doubt that somehow (I’ve never been able to find the source and to be honest, it doesn’t really sound like him – but it’s a good quote all the same)…

To stay in places and to leave…to trust, to distrust…to no longer believe and believe again…to watch the changes in the seasons…to be out in boats…to watch the snow come, to watch it go…to hear the rain…and to know where I can find what I want.

Music:Hinnom, TX – Bon Iver

One thought on “Quintessence

  1. Nice thought; someone described the shutter of the camera as a guillotine that falls on the moment and kills it; cameras can destroy moments that should live forever in the memory.

Leave a Reply

