White Noise

This is going to sound strange, but I find it really hard to do any work without a television. I’ve always done my studying or essay writing in sight of a television, playing something that I could easily drift in and out of, or ignore. I know it sounds ridiculous, but there it is. I used to have a tv in my study for precisely this reason, and I’d put things on that I’d seen before just for momentary respite when I glanced up from my studies. It’s always been that way – I have fond memories of lying on the living room floor, doing my math homework to Rove Live (and when Letterman came on, I always knew that I’d stayed up too late.)

So now I find myself in the odd position of not having a television – it’s usually not an issue at all, we basically stream everything we want to watch and I never feel like I’m missing out. It’s actually quite nice to not have that compulsion to immediately switch the thing on when you walk through the door. But I’ve noticed it’s a bit of a problem when I’m trying to write essays – like I’m doing right now. I need that background noise. And streaming something on my laptop while writing on it…well, it doesn’t work that well.

Sigh. First world problems.

In other news, I’ve upped and moved my blog yet again. I can’t even settle down in the virtual world. I know, madness. Anyway, I’ve mostly done this because my travel blog is on wordpress and I’m tired of swapping between platforms all the time. Also, Abbi insists this is easier to follow. So, here I am. Let’s see how it goes.

Music: Brennisteinn – Sigur Ros

3 thoughts on “White Noise

    • I’m really good at blocking it out, but I’m also very selective about what I have on. It’s almost always something I’ve seen before, or something I’m not overly invested in. Numb3rs was always very good for this, and season 2/3 of Doctor Who. Or a film like Troy or Ocean’s Eleven. I mean I can play music, of course, but there’s just something about being able to look up and watch for a bit that helps settle my concentration.

  1. Welcome!! It really is much easier to follow on WP. I promise. I also like having TV in the background. Now we don’t have live TV anymore either, I stream Modern Family while I’m working.

Leave a Reply

